:: My Point Of View ::

April 21, 2012

Chateau St. Julien, rural France


Bonjour!!

Yup!! You guessed it! I am now in France. In rural France to be exact. I forgot what is the exact name of this village but we are staying in this gigantic, cozy, antiques but renovated ancient castle called Chateau St. Julien. It’s our accommodation for the whole weekends as well as the reception venue of the wedding of my lovely friend Wellena and her French husband Nico. In fact this is actually Nico’s village where his parents live.

We’ve been staying in this chateau since 2 days ago. I’m loving every little corner of it. It looked spooky on the first sight but once inside, I’m amazed at everything that it offers. There are a total of seven rooms in this chateau that accommodates 15 occupancy but honestly it could fit 50 people. And I am now in a big room for the single travelers with 4 beds but I myself is not sleeping here. I am here just to suck some wifi cos it’s stronger here. Hehehe….. I sleep in a double room with my other girl friend, Cell.

We landed Paris after a rough 12 hours flight from KL on 19th early morning Paris time. There wer four of us from Malaysia. Me, Cell (the bridesmaid), Nick (the imported wedding photographer) and Azra ( the only one from KL). I believe everyone in the flight were not expecting the weather can be so cold when the Captain announce the temperature outside. It was 6 degree!!! Oh my gucci!! I thought I is Spring already?! In fact even the couple weren’t expecting the weather can be this so freaking cold that’s why they chose Spring Wedding at the first place.

So, we took a train to the main train station to this village. We still had plenty of time before our scheduled train to depart. Darn! The weather was so freakingly cold that all we wanted to do is to seat in a cafe and eat to keep us warm (from the heater). Gosh! This isn’t Spring. This is still Winter!! Maybe even colder than winter in Melbourne and Taipei the last time I went there. Now I am so glad that I brought my thick sweater apart from my trusted leather jacket. And my thermal sleeping long johns. Thank goodness!!

We took another 4 hours ride of train to reach the village and another 30 minutes to reach this majestic chateau. Apparently this chateau is up for rental for events such as weddings, workshops etc. The weather is very unpredictable, it can rain or drizzle for 15 mins and then stop and sun comes out and then half an hour later it rains again and repeat pattern for 100 times. So u tell me la, how to go out further? When every time after few shots of photos, we have to run back into the chateau whenever it started to rain 😦 and the fireplace never stop burning. It has been the favorite spot for everyone to get warm. Khaleena just arrived from Scotland yesterday and we did tried to walk a little further and the same thing happened. We had to run back again. grrrr!!

There are so much I wanted to write down. But the time is limited now. The wedding is today!! Yay!! And will start in another 6 hours at a church an hour drive from here. Yeah…. Everything is far here. But the bus is coming to pick us up at 12.30pm. So I need to get ready now. the reception will be at 8.30pm tonight. But over here, the sun sets at 8.30-9pm. They have longer day time here 🙂

I dont know how we all can stand the cold and chill with our dress later but for vanity we’ll brave ourselves.

I cannot wait for the wedding. The theme is ‘vintage’. So I’m going to shower now.

To Wel and Nico, enjoy your special day! And just have fun and don’t stop falling in love to each other over and over again. And million thanks for keeping me in this beautiful place and feed me so well that I think I’ve gain weigh just within these two days.

Be blessed always!

3 Comments »

  1. I loved your content (well written by the way) but where are the pics? Do you have any you’re going to post?

    Comment by wanderinggenie — April 21, 2012 @ 3:25 pm | Reply

  2. Hey, it was a nice read. Why don’t you post a few pictures of this place? I would really like to watch. Any ways, do post about the wedding too. Will be waiting for it.

    Comment by pareshnakhe — April 21, 2012 @ 3:59 pm | Reply

  3. I like this post! Put up pictures already lahhhhh!! Edit cepat2. Enjoy your time there because i can feel the excitement for you guys over here!! At least the sun set earlier over there.. in london, the sun sets at around 10pm. T.T I heard from nick you’re backpacking after the wedding alone. Salute weii. Looking forward for more post with peektures 😀

    Comment by Makeupgeeek — April 21, 2012 @ 10:51 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

