:: My Point Of View ::

November 20, 2009

Honey….., Say My Name….. Correctly.

Filed under: So Peppery Random — lv @ 6:33 pm
Tags: ,

Be warned: long crappy boring random fact about ME

nothing is more appropriate to introduce yourself with the most important part of your identity, your own name! but in my case it needs more than just ‘hi, my name is Leanor Valerie’ *shakes hands* to first getting to know me. and i know at the back of your head you are struggling to repeat the first name and some of you might think ‘u sure u spell it correctly? in case u forgot the ‘E’?’ geddit? geddit? Eleanor? *cry*

you might also think ‘but Leanor (i know u are still struggling to decide how to pronounce this), why on earth would I want to know about your name?’ big deal, it has been quite a debacle my whole entire life. so much so, I used to despised my own name. literally. especially my first name. i know it seems simple enough, only six letter words, but nope, it’s been butchered all the time….. T_T

ok, let me repeat again, my name is Leanor Valerie Anyi. and as i just typed it they’ll always that red wavy underline under Leanor and Anyi. which is so irritating! and u know that they aren’t a common word in the dictionary. I don’t mind Anyi, cos that’s just my dad’s and it shows my identity as a kayan. but if in your head you pronounced it as Le-nor and A(as in ABC)-Nyee, you said it wrong! it’s lee-ah-nor vae-le-ree ah-nyee. so you can imagine my pure hatred as a young kid at school for always have to correct the sound until i really too tired of it i just let it be ‘le-no’ up to high school. so i’m known as ‘le-no’ as in the direct selling brand Leno among my school frens up till now T__T

throughout my school years i blamed The Mother for such weird uncommon name. how can she named me like that? without the ‘E’? T_T ohya, The Mother is funny too. she named me Leanor, right? but up till primary two she still wrote Eleanor on my exercise books while the whole school called me with my ‘mandarin’ name which was totally different. so pls imagine the confuse kid i was. seesh! then when i was in primary three and smart enough to know things. i finally realised the correct spelling. T_T it is without an ‘E’ in the birth cert and report card!

of course like any other over k-po kid, i asked The Mother how she got the name. (yes, a big deal for me ok! i haven’t meet anyone with the same name yet) she told me she got them from a book she read. a christian novel something like that. the main character’s name was actually Eleanor but she purposely dropped the ‘E‘ to make it special cos Eleanor is too common she said. hisk! ‘tak special pun, it sounds so weird and tak best!‘ i grumbled in my heart. i asked where’s the book and she just pointed lazily towards the book shelves and i assumed it was from a book that has a cute girl with a family on the cover. but i was too young to read such thick book then so i promised to read it when i’m big enough and can read english :p

years later during one of my sem break, i did read the book (which i assumed it was), but sadly there wasnt any Leanor / Eleanor and Valerie in it at all. teii!! must be from another book. sigh!

undeterred, i asked The Mother where’s the book yesterday. and she grumpily said it has been borrowed by a friend and never returned. sigh! and you know what’s the novel title? ‘Not My Will’ *fainted* why?! is it really not the book’s will to let me read it? T_T

but i did found both names in one of my john grisham’s collection though. and of course it was Eleanor not Leanor. KNS!

during college, i heard ppl said it’s a very unique name cos they never heard of it. and that made me a little proud *smug* (The Mother’s objective achieved!)

in uni, i thought to change my name. i planned to tell ppl my name is Eleanor. cos i like the sound of it better. Haha!! but i guess i forgotten so i still stick with the same one. but as predicted, most went, ‘excuse me?! any shorter or easy way to call you?!’ i know they meant the quirky first name. so i just told them they can go ahead call me Valerie. it stuck ever since throughout my whole campus life till now 🙂 at least Valerie is a common name. see. no red wavy underline :p

now, ppl still raise their eye brows whenever they hear my first name and contemplate which name to call me. but at least now most of them pronounce it correctly. i still haven’t meet or heard anybody else with the same name but have met Eleanor and Eleanora. *sigh* and we had a good laugh about our names.

along the way, i have so many names / nicks that ppl call me with. when i gathered all of them. it amused even myself! but i’ve get used to them already. here are all of them;
1) Leanor (read as Le-No, most of my friends from primary to high school)
2) Leanor (read as Lee-ann-nor, for some enlightened ppl eg: teachers :p)
3) Valerie (mostly my uni frens and ppl i meet during job)
4) Val (short form of valerie)
5) Lee Na (ok this is the direct sound from my mandarin name that my standard one teacher gave me T_T KNS! jauh panggang dari api from the actual one)
6) Ong (for ppl very very close)
7) Ba-Ong (KNS! my siblings sometimes call me this, sengaja wan!)
8 ) Kak-Ong (for the younger wans)
9) Ong Che-che (for my Chinese cousins)
10) Ung (short-form of Bah-ung in kayan which means, girl)
11) Ung Anyi (haha! this one funny yet very common for kayan where they’ll call you together with ur dad’s name which means you are ur father’s daughter! Eg: Ung Ngau, Ung Wan, Ung Jok. haha!)
12) Ping (my kayan name that never been use, my grandma even forgot that she ever gave me that already T_T)
13) Mu’ (girl, in lun bawang usually used by my grandma)
14) Neng (also means girl in lun bawang. called only by imelda and tim. lol!)
15) Liv (haha! this doesnt count la, my Farm Town name for Livan after i played the ‘what is ur kayan name?’ quiz :p)
16) Leanorval (for commercial purpose of this blog and photography. I even dream that this name would make a household brand! LOL! ok i allow u to puke but pls find a bucket! well, a girl can always dream, right?!)
17) Miaw (my pet cat calls me this. KNS! cos it’s the only language he knows. ok lame joke.)

so since my name is so ‘unique’ i tried to google it. see what KNS will come out. Whoa! it came out with the weirdest thing! a slimming product which has been banned! LOL! (lame thing i do when i’m bored)

but then it also came out in this site;

www.thinkbabynames.com/meaning/0/Leanor

hmmm… my name actually means compassion or light. proved that the name does exist despite not being popular.

then a few scroll down, i found my name in this site;

Malaysian Journal of Analytical Science, Vol. 9, No. 3 (2005)

wah!! my final year thesis!! compiled together with the rest of selected ones. hahaa! although it’s in bahasa melayu (it’s a requirement) but at least i’ve been featured in such intellectual way!! LOL!! worth all the restless long hour journey to the case study location and sleepless nights and smelly lab and the butterflies during viva presentation aey!

and apparently, i am the only person with the name exist on facebook. teiii….

i can say that i am rather proud with my unpopular name now. i’ll get pissed off when ppl spell it wrongly. now i treat my name as my very treasured possession. cos God calls us by name!!

Hello! *waives* have i bored to sleep?! sorry T_T and last but not least more about my name in err… pixels form.

#1

an old book of baby names i bought few years ago during POPULAR sales. bought this just for fun since it was 70% discount together with my four John Grishams. ^^ another purpose is to find my own name and my ahem.... for my future 1st daughter's name :p

#2

there!! can u see ME? at the very bottom sitting alone. sadly i couldnt find the bb girl's name that i want for my future 1st daughter T_T

#3

my boss gave this to me from her trip to The UK. she said she couldnt find my first name. i understand boss, i really do.

oh btw, the description on the pen gift box is very true 🙂

be blessed, ppl!

i live to learn and i learn to live with it

5 Comments »

  1. “hi, my name is harold wilson”

    “khairul? hairul? karol? harun?”

    *damn it, it is english name u idiot!…

    *imaginary reaction to most malays ppl i met after i introduce my self..

    Comment by haro — November 23, 2009 @ 8:36 am | Reply

  2. LOL!!! even pitier than me :p kesian…. khairul…. hahahaha!!

    Comment by leanorval — November 23, 2009 @ 8:53 am | Reply

  3. u were right.i almost fell asllep reading this.who knows stuff about names itself boleh jadi dis panjang.ish2..

    but,i do tink u got a kewl name.thank god i got that right at the 1st place.kire i masuk dlm kategori enlightened ppl la kan.ahahaha

    Comment by idobez — November 24, 2009 @ 1:14 pm | Reply

    • LOL!! sorry to bore u :p

      well, now ur turn to blog about ur name. ur name is very unique too u know?! 🙂 mane tau lagi pjg dpr yg ni :p

      Comment by leanorval — November 24, 2009 @ 3:35 pm | Reply

  4. light = eleanor = leanor = cahaya = nur = raito
    English = greek = spain = indonesia = arab = japan

    eleanor = name of car in the movie “gone in 60 seconds”

    Comment by kautahusiapa — December 10, 2009 @ 3:46 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

